Longest-ever writer’s block

Prompt: Have you ever had extended writer’s block? How long did it last? What did you do to break out of it, and do you have tips for other bloggers?

YES. I have had writer’s block. I’ve been reading blogs for 10 + years, and I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a blog for about the same amount of time. When some of the boring food bloggers I used to read got book deals, I languished in silent loathing.

I could point out grammar errors and poorly worded sentences until my face turned blue, but I couldn’t bring myself to type my own words.

Finally, one of the bloggers I read announced that she was going to do NaBloPoMo ’14, the planets aligned, my coffee kicked in, and I furiously rushed to create this little spot here, add my name to the list, and get cracking!

So, tip #1- browse your favorite bloggers while caffeinating

#2- If you feel a spark of inspiration, ride the coffee wave and hammer out a post!  If you haven’t been inspired after 15-20 minutes, just start.

#3- keep it in perspective. Not every post has to be brilliant, hilarious and make you tons of money and glory. .Just get it done (stealing some wisdom from Anne Lamott– just do that “shitty first draft”)

If writing something-anything- doesn’t jolt you, then continue to hunt for inspiration. BUT, don’t stop writing while you look. Slumps suck you in, and the longer you stay stuck, the harder it is to move.

This guy should have just written his shitty first draft. Now look where he is.

This guy should have just written his shitty first draft. Now look where he is.

4 thoughts on “Longest-ever writer’s block

  1. Alana Mautone (@RamblinGarden) says:

    Participating in a blog challenge that required me to write 30 daily posts in 30 days (I had to post daily) but also offered prizes is what got me truly started in blogging. The prizes kept me going – and I’ve never stopped. Your posts don’t need to be perfect and there is a lot of inspiration out there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rainbowportion says:

    I was trying to explain to my partner why I was snubbing him to get a blog post done last night. He didn’t understand why people would force themselves to write every day. I told him it was discipline, and practice, and because the more you say, “I don’t really feel like it today,” the harder it is to get back into it. He still didn’t get it, but oh, well–I got my post done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

