Writing voices

NaBloPoMo Prompt: Do you feel you have found your voice on your blog? What techniques have you tried to develop your voice in your writing? What are some characteristics of your personality in your writing?

I don’t think I’ve found my voice on my blog, but I honestly haven’t really thought very much about it. This is my…4th? 5th? post on my very first blog EVER. I’ve read that I should consider my writing “voice,” but at the risk of indulging in procrastinatory navel-gazing, I’ve gone with a different tactic.

31ac538377f51e3bc7d3a60fd8865b4f

TYPE ALL OF THE THINGS

I have thought about what irritates me when I read blogs, and I have a mental sticky note of what to avoid:

  • self-importance (no, you don’t know all of the answers. If you did, you’d have gotten a publishing deal already. Don’t tell me what to do),
  • facades (you’re perfect and you have a perfect life and house and baby and you’re going to tell me how perfect you all are),
  • 4c5281715b9c0d907818cab0e6857cd9

    You just woke up like this

  • lack of real, honest, humanity (the whole “the crack is where the light gets in” thing… share with people the personal details, I want to know! I’m nosy! But also, with every “flaw” is a community of other flawed people, and they’re probably a ton of fun! Or at least, maybe you could help someone with your story)
  • negativity (re: how we react to flaws/events out of our control… people who freak out or mope are not enjoyable to read. Or be around in real life)
  • 13bf41f3c16b221b370b5f359fa151ca

    Yes. This.

  • I’m going to stop making this list because now I’m just getting annoyed.

Blogs “voices” that I enjoy reading are self-aware without being self-indulgent and overly “meta.” I enjoy relating to an author’s struggles and triumphs, especially when they’re similar to mine. Also, if a blog can make me laugh, I’m pretty much yours forever. Basically, what I’m trying to say, is that I’m a copycat. I would like my voice in this space to make people nod, chuckle, and generally feel pretty awesome about life.

d886471a9bc1ffffebe3a00dbcf33674

 

Actually, judging from this post, I think my “voice” is random and slightly silly, with a side of generally unrelated pictures. I’m pretty ok with that.

<a href=”http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-heart/”>By Heart</a>

3 thoughts on “Writing voices

  1. Shalama Jackson says:

    Stopping by as a blogger in the NABLOPMO challenge. I say, write from who and where you are. You’ll find that voice. But if you never begin writing, you’ll never get anywhere. Hopefully, this month will help guide you along the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

